LIVE WEBINAR: A sceptic’s guide to municipalities and desalination

Broadcast date: Tuesday, 23 March 2021

12h00 London | 14h00 Johannesburg | 17h30 New Delhi | 20h00 Singapore | 23h00 Melbourne

How does a municipality establish whether desalination is the correct path for it to choose? What are the risks involved in establishing a desalination plan? 

Featured Speakers

Moderator: Nicolette Pombo-van Zyl

Editor, ESI Africa

Speaker: Dawid Bosman

Senior Manager, Trans Caledon Tunnel Authority, South Africa 

Speaker: Graham Metcalf

Geohydrologist, Umgeni Water

Speaker: Barry Martin

Senior Director: Water and Sanitation, Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality

A sceptic’s guide to municipalities and desalination

The National Sanitation and Water Masterplan for South Africa spells out different ways the country can reduce its water demand and ramp up its water supply while staying cognisant of climate impacts, between now and 2030.   

These include exploring groundwater options; using desalination to increase the water supply; encouraging industrial and domestic water re-use; and addressing non-revenue losses such as water leaks and inefficient billing structures. 

Much of the responsibility for turning the measures into action devolves to local authorities and municipalities. Case in point would be using desalination for large scale water procurement in coastal areas. 

How would this work though, when municipalities do not currently employ personnel skilled in running desalination projects? These developments also call for the type of long term debt financing which municipalities struggle with unless National Treasury can step in with a sovereign guarantee. 

What does this mean for South African municipalities already battling to cope with service delivery expectations? 

Register now

What you'll learn during this discussion

Ripple

How much desalination is planned for in the national water infrastructure plans up to 2030? 

Ripple

What are the funding options for a municipality undertaking a path of desalination?    

Ripple What are the opportunities for the private sector to get involved and how do these tie into infrastructure planning up to 2030? 
Ripple

What are the risks involved in establishing a desalination plan and how do you derisk the exercise? 

Ripple How does a municipality establish that desalination is the correct path for it to choose?
Ripple Where does the existing water authority fit into the decision making process? 

 

Register now

 

Register now via Enlit Africa-Connect

Enlit Africa-Connect offers you an opportunity to engage with the best thought-leaders, innovators and disrupters in the energy sector, whilst having front row seats to an exciting line-up of webinars, the world's leading suppliers and so much more.
 

 

Register now via GoToWebinar

If you are interested in just this one session - and you are not looking to network and gain instant access to many more webinars, you can register through GoToWebinar by completing the form below.
 

 

This webinar is brought to you by

Enlit logo

In partnership with

ESI Logo

Host Ministry

  • Mineral resources & energy

Host Utility

  • eskom-logo

Host City

  • City-of-Cape-Town

Municipal Leaders Forum Partners

  • Ntiyiso
  • Salga-logo

Platinum Sponsor

  • Landis + Gyr
  • Conlog
  • Actom Pty Ltd

Silver Sponsor

  • Nyamezela
  • Ntiyiso Consulting
  • Hauwei
  • Akilee

CEO Forum Partners

  • Conlog
  • Eaton
  • Lucy Electric
  • Nyamezela
  • Oracle Utilities
  • Prime Alliance
  • Apua Asea

Global Knowledge Partner

  • Enel Foundation

Initiate Supporting Partners

  • Sarebi
  • SAIEE

Host Publication

  • ESI Africa