Attend The Digital Event

Connect. Engage. Evolve. Join us 8-10 June 2021

Enlit Africa, formerly African Utility Week and POWERGEN Africa, invites you to learn, connect and engage with industry leaders and Africa’s power and energy community across our three-day, not-to-be-missed digital event on 8 – 10 June 2021. Register for your front-row seat to highly topical, free CPD accredited webinars, roundtables, tech showcases and the world’s leading suppliers presenting their latest solutions and so much more. 
 

Why you should attend

  • LEARN more about the role and opportunities of the energy transition in Africa
  • DISCOVER the implications of climate change for the energy sector
  • ACCESS the world’s leading suppliers advancing the progress of the energy sector
  • ENGAGE with participants in real-time 
  • CONNECT with like-minded professionals and industry experts through our AI-powered matchmaking
  • EARN free CPD points with SAIEE

 

Programme

FREE CPD Accreditation with: 

Free CPD Accreditation with SAIEE

Loading
08 Jun 2021
  1. 150 mins

    08:00 GMT | 09:00 WAT | 10:00 SAST | 11:00 EAT

    Welcome by Enlit Africa

    Ministerial address

    Welcome address - the future of energy - a global initiative

    How Eskom is addressing the 5 D's of the energy transition: 

    • Decarbonisation 
    • Decentralisation 
    • Democratisation 
    • Digitalisation 
    • Deregulation 

    Panel discussion: Tackling the 5Ds of the energy transition - a global initiative.. with a local flavour 

    • Technology, policy, funding - what roles do each of these play? 
    • How do we support both a future forward transition that is also just? 
    • Does Africa's energy transition have to follow the same trajectory as the rest of the world? 
    • Can we be trend setters in our own right? 
    • The opportunities of the energy transition for Africa 

    Keynote sponsor:

    Enlit Africa Digital Event Keynote Sponsor - Siemens

  2. 15 mins

    10:15 GMT | 11:15 WAT | 12:15 SAST | 13:15 EAT

    Interview: Kadri Nassiep, Executive Director, City of Cape Town, South Africa

  3. 45 mins

    10:30 GMT | 11:30 WAT | 12:30 SAST | 13:30 EAT

    Sponsored session: GE

  4. 60 mins

    11:15 GMT | 12:15 WAT | 13:15 SAT | 14:15 EAT

    Finance, investment and strategy is your starting point for delivering on Africa's commitment to economic growth, energy access, climate change mitigation and more. In this session panellists will address the current financial landscape and discuss how to deliver on the energy transition the continent needs.

  5. 15 mins

    12:15 GMT | 13:15 WAT | 14:15 SAST | 15:15 EAT

    Interview with Gigawatt Global

  6. 60 mins

    12:30 GMT | 13:30 WAT | 14:30 SAST | 15:30 EAT

    Case study: Kenya’s electricity modernistaion plan

    Case study: Konsequela village mini-grid monitoring system, Mali

    Discussion points

    • Future proofing the transition
    • Innovation and technology
    • Storage, renewable energies
    • The role of fossil fuels in Africa’s future
  7. 60 mins
    12:30 GMT | 13:30 WAT | 14:30 SAST | 15:30 EAT
     

    This entry-level PV system design workshop is recommended for anyone new to the solar market and interested in navigating their way into this fast-growing industry.  With a focus on utility-connected PV systems (the largest and fastest-growing market sector), the class begins by introducing primary components, terminology, and applications for solar electric (PV) systems. We will discuss concepts that are critical for good design, and how they are applied in practice. 

    This workshop will provide a solid, basic foundation from which a larger exploration of utility-connected PV systems can be launched. 

09 Jun 2021
  1. 60 mins

    09:00 GMT | 10:00 WAT | 11:00 SAST | 12:00 EAT

    Though most countries have national electrification plans, many of these plans may not include off-grid energy development. Off-grid minigrids are often built in areas the national grid deems too far away to get to right now, but what happens when the national grid expands that far?

  2. 10 mins
    10:00 GMT | 11:00 WAT | 12:00 SAST | 13:00 EAT
  3. 10 mins
    10:10 GMT | 11:10 WAT | 12:10 SAST | 13:10 EAT
  4. 60 mins

    10:30 GMT | 11:30 WAT | 12:30 SAST | 13:30 EAT

    Due to its expected environmental, climate, social and economic benefits, the circular economy has gained traction in many cities globally. The circular economy has also drawn the attention of both public and private financiers looking to make impactful investments. With this in mind and the increased move towards sustainability in cities, calls for building a workable business case in this sector.

  5. 10 mins
    11:30 GMT | 12:30 WAT | 13:30 SAST | 14:30 EAT
  6. 10 mins
    11:40 GMT | 12:40 WAT | 13:40 SAST | 14:40 EAT
  7. 30 mins

    12:00 GMT | 13:00 WAT | 14:00 SAST | 15:00 EAT

    Sponsored session: Toshiba

    Senior representative, Toshiba, Japan

     

  8. 30 mins

    12:30 GMT | 13:30 WAT | 14:30 SAST | 15:30 EAT

    Senior representative, Siemens South Africa

  9. 30 mins

    12:30 GMT | 13:30 WAT | 14:30 SAST | 15:30 EAT

    G-PST Consortium presentation

    Addressing the technical implications of climate change will involve the integration of renewable energy in transmission and distribution grids. The GPST is providing support in building human capacity and technical advice, along with the tools and models necessary to manage such an integration.

  10. 30 mins
    13:00 GMT | 14:00 WAT | 15:00 SAST | 16:00 EAT
10 Jun 2021
  1. 60 mins

    09:00 GMT | 10:00 WAT | 11:00 SAST | 12:00 EAT

    Hydrogen is the buzz-word of the clean energy sector right now. Right now, at the beginning of the journey Africa could carve out any role this burgeoning market – supplier of raw material, end user or creator/exporter/innovator.

  2. 60 mins
    09:00 GMT | 10:00 WAT | 11:00 SAST | 12:00 EAT
  3. 10 mins
    10:00 GMT | 11:00 WAT | 12:00 SAST | 13:00 EAT
  4. 15 mins

    10:15 GMT | 11:15 WAT | 12:15 SAST | 13:15 EAT

    Akshat Kulkarni, CEO, Orxa Grid

  5. 60 mins

    10:30 GMT | 11:30 WAT | 12:30 SAST | 13:30 EAT

    Despite a challenging environment and a large number of unmetered or unregistered consumers, Nigerian DISCOs are starting to see a turnaround in the management of their non-technical losses. We will be speaking with some of these to understand how they managed.

  6. 60 mins
    10:30 GMT | 11:30 WAT | 12:30 SAST | 13:30 EAT
  7. 10 mins
    11:30 GMT | 12:30 WAT | 13:30 SAST | 14:30 EAT
  8. 15 mins
    11:45 GMT | 12:45 WAT | 13:45 SAST | 14:45 EAT
  9. 60 mins

    12:00 GMT | 13:00 WAT | 14:00 SAST | 15:00 EAT

    Energy security is not guaranteed in many African metro cities. This has led to a rise in cities considering the route of engaging with IPPs and therefore reducing dependence on the national grid.

  10. 120 mins
    12:00 GMT | 13:00 WAT | 14:00 SAST | 15:00 EAT

 

Register now

Register for your front row seat for highly topical webinars, access the latest product and services showcases and connect with industry peers using our AI-powered matchmaking.

REGISTER NOW

Sponsorship and branding

This is a unique opportunity to be seen as an industry thought leader, gain valuable leads and build your brand in the African power, energy and water industry.

MORE ABOUT SPONSORSHIP

Did you know? We also have other exciting content available to you throughout the year...


 

FIND OUT MORE

Host Ministry

  • Mineral resources & energy

Host Utility

  • eskom-logo

Host City

  • City-of-Cape-Town

Municipal Leaders Forum Partners

  • Ntiyiso
  • Salga-logo

Platinum Sponsor

  • Landis + Gyr
  • Conlog
  • Actom Pty Ltd

Silver Sponsor

  • Nyamezela
  • Ntiyiso Consulting
  • Hauwei
  • Akilee

CEO Forum Partners

  • Conlog
  • Eaton
  • Lucy Electric
  • Nyamezela
  • Oracle Utilities
  • Prime Alliance
  • Apua Asea

Global Knowledge Partner

  • Enel Foundation

Initiate Supporting Partners

  • Sarebi
  • SAIEE

Host Publication

  • ESI Africa