WATCH AGAIN: The question of coal in the energy transition

Broadcast date: Tuesday, 23 February 2021

12h00 London | 14h00 Johannesburg | 17h30 New Delhi | 20h00 Singapore | 23h00 Melbourne

In this live webinar, we unpacked the concern around the role of traditional generation in the energy transition where Africa’s more immediate problem is that of modernisation and expansion.

Featured Speakers

Moderator: Nicolette Pombo van Zyl

Editor,  ESI Africa, South Africa

Speaker: Gaylor Montmasson-Clair

Senior Economist, Trade & Industrial Policy Strategies (TIPS), South Africa

Speaker: Ted Blom

Energy & Mining Analyst, South Africa

Speaker: Dr Tony Surridge

Technical Advisor, Geoscience Council, South Africa

The question of coal in the energy transition

Financing to mitigate or adapt to looming climate issues is receiving more attention but still lags behind traditional thermal generation and commonplace operational considerations. 

While an increasing number of governments are starting to consider a more sustainable energy transition as central to future climate strategies, this philosophy raises queries around finding the balance between embracing clean energy and exploiting least-cost resources.

 

Register now

What you'll learn during this discussion

Ripple

Is the concept of clean coal technologies possible or an oxymoron?

Ripple

Is a move to exploiting more gas resources a step in the right direction?

Ripple Do the global pandemic and associated drop in oil revenue represent a chance to refocus direct private investment away from coal?
Ripple Where do human resources fit into the energy transition?

 

Access the on demand webinar on Enlit Africa-Connect

 

This webinar is brought to you by

Enlit logo

ESI Logo

Host Ministry

  • Mineral resources & energy

Host Utility

  • eskom-logo

Host City

  • City-of-Cape-Town

Municipal Leaders Forum Partners

  • Ntiyiso
  • Salga-logo

Platinum Sponsor

  • Landis + Gyr
  • Conlog
  • Actom Pty Ltd

Silver Sponsor

  • Nyamezela
  • Ntiyiso Consulting
  • Hauwei
  • Akilee

CEO Forum Partners

  • Conlog
  • Eaton
  • Lucy Electric
  • Nyamezela
  • Oracle Utilities
  • Prime Alliance
  • Apua Asea

Global Knowledge Partner

  • Enel Foundation

Initiate Supporting Partners

  • Sarebi
  • SAIEE

Host Publication

  • ESI Africa