The Digital Dialogues 2021

Loading

Building Wakanda: Separating fact from fiction

26 May 2021

12:00 GMT | 13:00 WAT | 14:00 SAT | 15:00 EAT

During his State of the Nation address in February 2021, South African president, Cyril Ramaphosa announced the formation of a number of smart city developments for the country. 

While a smart city could be defined as a city that leverages innovation to achieve its desired outcomes, the definition is not limited to the concept of technology only. It is, instead, representative of an environment where “opportunity, amenity, safety, resilience, inclusivity and prosperity are imperatives, and innovation across financing, design, construction, operations and governance is embraced by all stakeholders to achieve these imperatives.” 

During this discussion, we will examine the thinking behind and opportunities available in the African smart city sector. 

This session will delve into: 

  • Are smart developments the catalyst to smart cities in Africa 
  • What makes up Wakanda?
    - Sustainable technology
    - Digitilisation
    - Lifestyle estates 
  • Vision to reality: Opportunities for Africa 


APPLY FOR YOUR PLACE NOW

Host Ministry

  • Mineral resources & energy

Host Utility

  • eskom-logo

Host City

  • City-of-Cape-Town

Municipal Leaders Forum Partners

  • Ntiyiso
  • Salga-logo

Platinum Sponsor

  • Landis + Gyr
  • Conlog
  • Actom Pty Ltd

Silver Sponsor

  • Nyamezela
  • Ntiyiso Consulting
  • Hauwei
  • Akilee

CEO Forum Partners

  • Conlog
  • Eaton
  • Lucy Electric
  • Nyamezela
  • Oracle Utilities
  • Prime Alliance
  • Apua Asea

Global Knowledge Partner

  • Enel Foundation

Initiate Supporting Partners

  • Sarebi
  • SAIEE

Host Publication

  • ESI Africa